Skip to content

iPhone 5 for work

November 8, 2014

After a lot of testing of the iPhone 5 I do think that the iPhone is pretty good for work purposes. The ‘App Store’ has a considerable amount of applications available for most operations that you may need to perform on your phone. I have experienced a couple of issues with my calendar, reminders and mail going out of sync, but a quick disable/enable for those items within Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars fixed it. Pages and Keynote are ok, but I would really much prefer a properly compatible version of Word and Excel like I’ve had during testing of a Windows Phone 8 device, but in all honesty how much file editing am I going to do from a phone? This is a limitation for an iPad though, but that is not the subject of this article.

My previous experience with an iPhone 4 and its associated battery life created an initial negativity around using iPhone’s for business, the only outstanding issue I have to overcome somehow is the cost! £440 ex VAT for a SIM free phone from the Apple Store is crazy, what is worse is that there isn’t a discount even when I proposed buying 110 at the same time. Bonkers. After that I approached our mobile phone supplier who we get our Vodafone contract with and the best price he could get for a single device………. can you guess??? Yes, £730 excluding VAT. I nearly fell off my seat.

Its a pretty easy sell within the company to get iPhone’s from a functionality and brand perspective, however the cost is going to be a challenge, but hey, we all like a challenge!!

For a recap on my diary on iPhone 5 battery usage, please see the links below which might be a useful guide for those in an equal state.

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8

Thanks

Mark

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

